For the Love of Mathematics

Yes, Dear I did say mathematics- that bizarre subject that makes sense in a twisted way and is a sure shot way to give us jitters before the examination. Yes, that very mathematics, or rather Maths. Believe me, it has always been one of my least favourite subjects. Then why do I suddenly write ‘for the love of it’?

I say so because there are people who actually love the subject. Moreover, they have every right to be in love with the subject. On the other hand, I am one of those people who love to run from mathematics books as soon as possible and as far as my feet can take me. Yet, I was stuck with the subject for 12 years. We had a mutual love-hate (less love, more hate) relationship with each other. These relationships always tend to be dissatisfying. At least they are to me. After all these years in the relationship, I was stuck with a problem. I had to master my 12th Maths book in about three months. Three months! Can you imagine that?

So, then I thought why not convert our relationship into a loving one for the time being if we are supposed to be stuck in the same cupboard. No point in bickering. So, I tried to find reasons for loving the subject. Surprisingly I found many. Here are a few-

  1. Maths is the best thing to practice in the morning. If we don’t get stuck with a problem, it won’t give us a headache at least for four hours.
  2. It engages our mind. Imagine lots of mental exercise to sharpen the brain followed by the satisfaction of doing something except mugging up facts.
  3. If there was one thing that satisfies us is our ability to solve problems. Man has a big brain. The only purpose of it is to solve problems. The tougher the problems to solve, the more satisfaction we get. In a twisted way, maths believes in the saying that ‘the end justifies the means’. (On the other hand, if Maths just understood that we have our own problems to solve without his add-on.)
  4. Contrary to popular belief, yes we can mug up Maths. If we practice enough then the pathway to solving any problem gets inserted into our brains. Or rather we already know the solutions. We just get more efficient to recall it (Practice leads to perfection. If only we were born perfect.).
  5. Maths is very good at providing us with new challenges in our monotonous young life. I will love anyone who gives me a way out of boredom. Wouldn’t you?
  6. Making geometrical shapes is a challenge of precision. We may not be good at painting. That does not mean we can not be great at mathematical constructions.desk-office-pen-ruler-large
  7. I don’t know about you, but I find graphs particularly suave. Especially, the graph of sigmoid functions. Maybe the reason behind this particular fascination is that I just love waves and symmetry. See the symmetrical display of Taj Mahal and you will also love it.
  8. Having Mathematics as a tool, we can create problems for others to solve. Someone tortured us, now we can torture someone else. Isn’t that cool? I am sure Mr. Newton loved it.
  9. Maths is a language. The language of science. Like every language, it has its beauty. The beauty of maths lies in its patterns. Every pattern is immaculate, every pattern leads to something. It is all logical.

pablo (4)

So that is all I find to love in Maths for now. Now, I wish we just had a little more time together to get intimate with each other. Many of you have the time now. Hope after reading this article you will want to at least sit down to do your Maths exercise.


 Without mathematics, there’s nothing you can do. Everything around you is mathematics. Everything around you is numbers.“- Shakuntala Devi

Pure mathematics is, in its way, the poetry of logical ideas.“- Albert Einstein

The study of mathematics, like the Nile, begins in minuteness but ends in magnificence.“- Charles Caleb Colton


P.S.- Do share your own reasons for both loving and disliking Mathematics.


Leave a Reply

